## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

December 2, 2021

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 29 – December 1, 2021:

## **Circuit Court**

16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William A. McKinnon, Rock Hill, SC
Family Court  1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michael H. Murphy, III, Summerville, SC
4 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	Eugene P. Warr Jr., Lamar, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable C. Vance Stricklin Jr., Columbia, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Gwendlyne Young Jones, Irmo, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Usha J. Bridges, Gaffney, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Daniel E. Martin Jr., Charleston, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Michèle Patrão Forsythe, Charleston, SC
10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Karen F. Ballenger, Seneca, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William Gregory Seigler, McCormick, SC
12 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Holly Huggins Wall, Johnsonville, SC The Honorable Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Florence, SC

13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Katherine Hall Tiffany, Taylors, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Karen Sanchez Roper, Sunset, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
14 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Douglas L. Novak, Bluffton, SC
15 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Melissa J. Buckhannon, Myrtle Beach, SC
15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	Melissa M. Frazier, Little River, SC
16 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Thomas H. White IV, Union, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified:

Master-in-Equity Allendale County	The Honorable Walter H. Sanders Jr., Barnwell, SC
<b>Anderson and Oconee Counties</b>	The Honorable Steven Coleman Kirven, Anderson, SC
<b>Charleston County</b>	The Honorable Mikell R. Scarborough, Charleston, SC

Clarendon County The Honorable Joseph K. Coffey, Manning, SC

**Dorchester County** The Honorable James E. Chellis, Summerville, SC

Horry County Alan Clemmons, Myrtle Beach, SC

Charles B. Jordan Jr., Myrtle Beach, SC

Douglas M. Zayicek, Conway, SC

**Sumter County** The Honorable Michael M. Jordan, Sumter, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 18, 2022. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 2, 2022.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.